ISDE World Congress

Join us #ISDE2024

ISDE & Committees​

International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus

The ISDE is an international, multispecialty society devoted to the study of the esophagus in disease and in health that was founded in 1979.

The aims of the ISDE are to promote the exchange of scientific and medical knowledge among specialists in the field, to maintain interchange with organizations and industries, and to encourage basic and clinical research in fields related to the esophagus. In order to promote the professional and educational development of individuals interested in the esophagus, the ISDE sponsors its own journal, international congresses, and other educational programs.

The ISDE Secretariat was in Tokyo, Japan, from 1979 to 2004, and then resided in Los Angeles, California, from 2004 through 2010. Since 2010 the Secretariat has been in Vancouver, British Columbia, under the auspices of International Conferences Service, Ltd.

The ISDE welcomes participation by existing members and encourages individuals who are professionally interested in the esophagus to become members. Benefits include reduced registration fees at our congresses and other educational offerings, restricted access to website content and member search capability, access to webcasts, reduced subscription rates for our journal, and the opportunity to help lead this organization into a position of leadership in the worldwide medical community.

ISDE Executive Committee

Simon Law - ISDE 2023 Committee

Simon Law

Hong Kong

Lorenzo-Ferri - ISDE 2023 Committee

Lorenzo Ferri

Vice President

Nicholas-J.-Shaheen - ISDE 2023 Committee

Nicholas J. Shaheen


Hideaki-Shimada - ISDE 2023 Committee

Hideaki Shimada


Sheila K. Krishnadath - ISDE 2023 Committee

Sheila K. Krischnadath


Vani-Konda - ISDE 2023 Committee

Vani Konda


ISDE 2023 Local Organising Committee

Lorenzo Ferri, MD, PhD,
McGill University Faculty of Medicine, Canada

ISDE 2023 Scientific Program Committee


Nicholas J. Shaheen, MD, MPH
University of North Carolina School of Medicine, United States

Rebecca Fitzgerald, OBE FMedSci
University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Wayne L. Hofstetter, MD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, United States


Suzanne Gisbertz, MD, MSc, PhD,
Amsterdam UMC, The Netherlands

Long-Qi Chen,
West China Hospital,Sichuan University, China